29
Sep
12

Adventures in dev – part I

More time to sit around, with a hobby project on my mind. I want to write an android app (points for originality!) that could occupy my boys. I’ve dabbled a little in android dev, but the bulid-deploy-test process with the android emulators was so slow it would kill momentum, or make me try to add too much between runs on the emulator.

My “why wouldn’t this work” notion for solving this is to write the app as a plain java SWT app, hopefully successfully separating UI-specific code from app code such that I can develop the app itself less painfully, and then only have to deal with SWT-to-android UI changes during final development on the emulator.

The other part of this exercise will be to attempt to follow the development methodology described in “Code Complete” to give myself some structure I might not otherwise use for a project like this.

So today, I’ll get through the first chapters of the book, until I get to I get to something actionable, and then use that. My goal is to get through one part of the book each day. Much like my January 02 post where I planned to post something every day, we’ll see how this goes.

end-of-day report
Got through chapter 3 today, and added some revisions to the app “requirements”, and ran across some good guidelines for the high-level design.

0 Responses to “Adventures in dev – part I”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

